Bantayan Island Is Not Just Another Option

If I make a choice between hiking on a hill, strolling in a mall, and spending time on a beach, I’d choose the first two options unless it’s authentically great like the beaches in Siargao or Boracay (the nerve!!!). I usually don’t go to a beach because: first, I don’t know how to swim; second, I don’t have the body and the face because some would go there just to show off (tell me I’m wrong!!!). However, like what I mentioned above if it’s really, really good, then I would enjoy the place and a dip in the water is satisfying and relieving at the same time. It’s my fourth time going back to Bantayan Island, and every time is a unique experience. Now, I can say that Bantayan Island can match the greatness of Boracay and Siargao. Recently, we visited five places and most of them were new to me.

First, we went to Obo-ob Mangrove Garden. You need a hat, umbrella, and comfortable wear to march on an exceptionally long stretch of bamboo walkway. There’s not much to see here. I think if you like to pose on a good and rare background image of mangrove trees, you will definitely enjoy the long walk. Several tourists visit here because this was one of the settings of the 2016 Filipino dramedy film Camp Sawi. You have to pay 50 pesos to get in.

Second, we went to Paradise Beach. I like this place because it’s quiet and not crowded, at least when we were there. The entrance fee is just 50 pesos although there’s no cottage or restaurant or food stalls, the water and sand are exceptionally fine!

Third, The Ruins. This is far different from The Ruins in Bacolod. Although it’s still historical, it’s not as grand. The place is said to be an abandoned and unfinished structure meant to be a fort during the Spanish period. Most visitors come here for more selfies and more fun shots, making the ruined structure their background.

Fourth, a beach near Kota Beach. I forgot the name. It’s public and free. It’s really good because the sandbar has a long stretch, plus it’s all sand so it’s good for the feet. We spent the longest time here both in the late afternoon and early morning. We witnessed the sunset and the sunrise here, and both were picturesque.

Fifth, Ogtong Cave. I have been here twice before, but I forgot what it felt like. Now that it’s my third time, I really enjoyed the water in the cave, and I remembered the good feeling from before. I also like the feeling of isolation and privacy although not spacious and you can’t be too loud because the other visitors might go there for some quiet. The entrance fee is 100 pesos, but it’s worth it!

We also went to Mayet Beach Resort. The place is good, but I think I love the food better. We ate dinner there, and of course, the surprise marriage proposal happened here (the main reason we were in Bantayan). My friend’s college classmate brought a lot of fresh scallops, and I ate a lot of them. The fish and other dishes served to us that night were unbelievably delicious and satisfying.

Even though it’s my fourth time, I’m still surprised for most of the places we visited during that short overnight stay in Bantayan. Thanks to good friends, the engaged couple Sarah and Noy and Ma’am Glory for this seemingly unplanned but planned trip. Also, thanks to Princess Farrah Guest House for making our overnight stay comfortable. Their staff is really good although their rooms can still be improved, especially the toilet. Overall, our stay was delightfully good. The tricycle driver was exceedingly kind and accommodating. Their breakfast was good. 699 pesos is very affordable. Here’s the link to the guest house: https://www.facebook.com/FarrahGuestHouseSantaFeCebu/posts/667926031283580

Bantayan Island is not just another option if you miss Palawan, Boracay, or Siargao. Bantayan Island can compete with these world-class tourist destinations. I think Bantayan Island is way more affordable compared to the big three, plus you have a lot of good options. Almost every resort has something to offer, not perfect but completely enjoyable and valuable. After that overnight stay, there’s a feeling that remains in me that wants to go back and enjoy a quiet time with myself and nature and peace. Bantayan Island is a perfect place for those.

By matthewtyke2011

think. observe. read. watch. listen. write.

Leave a comment

Rtistic

I speak my heart out.

MADD FICTIONAL

Welcome to the Worlds of Rhyan Scorpio-Rhys

What's A Word?

Where we talk terms

ArthrusWrites

I write what my soul says

Melody Chen

Word-Experimentalist

Rio Writes

Journey in words

Benyapoesy

I'm just a pocket poet.

asianonimous

“Some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again.”

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

My new beginning!

I can do this!

Sojourner

Reflections | Follower of Christ

Footnotes

She was but a pen in God's hand and what praise is due a pen? || Footnotes from life, her Bible and a bit of everything else.

A Christian Worldview of Fiction

A look at fiction and other bits of culture through the lens of the Bible