The New Normal: Online Church Service

Photo by Nikko Tan on Pexels.com

I could still vividly remember the emotions and the scene when it was announced in school that it was the last day of the school year. It was so sudden and some of my plans for me and for my students would go down into the drain. Also, on the same day, I had learned that our church would not hold physical services but beginning on that Sunday we would go online. At that moment, I didn’t know what I would feel, there’s a mix of fear and excitement but mostly unknown. Then, Sunday came.

It was awkward at first. My aunt and I sat in front of the monitor, and then we just immersed ourselves by the words of the messenger. There were few interactions, my aunt was still exclaiming her amens and I silently nodded to the insightful points and wrote my notes. Because the volume was up, my mother was preparing for lunch in the kitchen and my father was cleaning while they were listening. Having church service at home is really different compared to the real thing. There are a few favorable and some unfavorable things that come out of this new normal. Here are my observations:

FAVORABLE:

  1. There’s no need to spend on transportation.
  2. Coming late will never or rarely happen.
  3. True comfort is a full-on experience.
  4. The family is seated together or at least in one room.
  5. There’s no reason to be absent.
  6. Messages can be replayed a dozen times.
  7. Services can be shared online with anyone.
  8. Personally, I’m more quiet and meditative.
  9. Appearance is not a problem.
  10. There is safety from contracting the virus from a stranger.

UNFAVORABLE:

  1. There are a number of distractions e.g. you can easily check your messages, open another tab.
  2. There’s too much comfort and casualness.
  3. Messages are quite short most of the time.
  4. There’s no interaction like hearing cascading amens from the assembly.
  5. Fellowship with friends and visitors after service is impossible.

Personally, an in-person church service is really irreplaceable but for this time an online church service is the most practical and safest; nevertheless, doing the online option still follows the command that we should not forsake the assembling of ourselves together (Hebrews 10:25). This year is quite uncertain and maybe in the coming years. Of course, I’m not praying that this will continue for another year, but we actually don’t know because only God knows the answer. What we can do is to be steadfast in the work that God has given us and that in whatever way we can we’ll remain faithful in giving the highest glory to God. Experiencing all this makes me remember the parable of the faithful and wise servants (Matthew 24:45-51) that at any time, Jesus will come again and blessed are those who are found faithful in His arrival.

By matthewtyke2011

think. observe. read. watch. listen. write.

Leave a comment

Rtistic

I speak my heart out.

MADD FICTIONAL

Welcome to the Worlds of Rhyan Scorpio-Rhys

What's A Word?

Where we talk terms

ArthrusWrites

I write what my soul says

Melody Chen

Word-Experimentalist

Rio Writes

Journey in words

Benyapoesy

I'm just a pocket poet.

asianonimous

“Some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again.”

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

My new beginning!

I can do this!

Sojourner

Reflections | Follower of Christ

Footnotes

She was but a pen in God's hand and what praise is due a pen? || Footnotes from life, her Bible and a bit of everything else.

A Christian Worldview of Fiction

A look at fiction and other bits of culture through the lens of the Bible