Teaching the Future

This summer is quite different for me because for a few years now I always plan to get away from home leaving all the stress, bad memories of the past school year, and just simply spend a good summertime. I just had a less than a week trip away from home to Manila, Baguio, and Sagada and the trip was very fast-paced. It’s like every day we were moving to a different place which was a disadvantage because we couldn’t grasp and appreciate the beauty and culture of the place most especially Sagada because that was my first.

Anyway, so I seemed a little discontented of this year’s summer escapade because it was short-lived. I never thought that that first part of summer was not the highlight at all. It was in the month of May that rang a bell like that startling notification sound you get once in a while in Facebook. It was teaching kids. Yes, as a high school teacher for a decade, I have used strategies that probably wouldn’t work for kids age 9-12. I was not very comfortable at first because I had to be animated, cheerful, and playful with my words and actions which was a very hard thing to do.

This summer I did not only participate in one Vacation Bible School but I had to do it twice. I really thought that I couldn’t do it, but by God’s grace, everything worked out I guess. My storytelling of Jesus and the Samaritan woman failed in visuals, so I really went for animated narrative: opened my mouth wide, eyes glowed with mystery, and voice in fluctuating intonation and emphasis. 33125019_1791415144214824_8381265697572913152_oUntil now, I am still hoping that my audience remembered the lesson I taught and most importantly The Lord was honored and His Word translated into action even in small ways as every good thing starts small.

Yes, my summer was not that fun in worldly opinion but it was full of sense and purpose. During the evaluation of the Vacation Bible School, we watched a video clip that singled out the significance of teaching children age 9-12 because, with these ages, the hearts are very fertile to be sown with God’s Word. After watching the video, I was wondering that I could really make a difference in a child’s life by instilling in him the Bible and character and good example which are very hard to maintain consistently. Although the harvest may come later in their lives, God’s Word indeed will never be in vain. With this monumental summer experience, I think to shape the spiritual aspect of a child will eternally be a burden to me, and I pray that other Christians do as well. Jesus said, “Suffer little children and forbid them not, to come unto me; for of such is the kingdom of heaven”, I think it’s time to put more effort in kids ministry and believe that the children are the future because even Jesus engaged himself in teaching children. Indeed, it was a summer filled with realization and God’s Word intervening not just in me but to those who were with me this summer teaching our future.

By matthewtyke2011

think. observe. read. watch. listen. write.

Leave a comment

Rtistic

I speak my heart out.

MADD FICTIONAL

Welcome to the Worlds of Rhyan Scorpio-Rhys

What's A Word?

Where we talk terms

ArthrusWrites

I write what my soul says

Melody Chen

Word-Experimentalist

Rio Writes

Journey in words

Benyapoesy

I'm just a pocket poet.

asianonimous

“Some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again.”

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

My new beginning!

I can do this!

Sojourner

Reflections | Follower of Christ

Footnotes

She was but a pen in God's hand and what praise is due a pen? || Footnotes from life, her Bible and a bit of everything else.

A Christian Worldview of Fiction

A look at fiction and other bits of culture through the lens of the Bible